• Name:  Melanie W.Family Picture
  • Age:  22 (Born June 17th, 1991)
  • Location:  California.
  • Status: Engaged
  • Children: 1 baby boy, born August 19th, 2013.
  • Interests:  Art, Writing, Creativity, Fantasy, Reading, Horses/Equestrian, Pets (dogs, cats, reptiles, rodents, you name it!), Nature.
  • Hobbies:  Drawing, Writing, Horseback riding, Reading, Hiking.

I am a new mother to my lovely son, Kaspar, he has been a dream, honestly.  It has been a huge learning experience getting used to all of the responsibilities of parenthood, waking up to breastfeed him through the night, changing all those diapers, and keeping him generally happy and entertained (fun!).  He is so perfect, I know, most every mom is going to say that, but he is!  He is such a great baby to be around, he is really just a good boy.  It is such an odd feeling to be a mother, but I love it.

I am currently working at Petco, but am hoping to relocate to a more local job so that I can work closer to home.

There are a lot of things that I enjoy doing, and as an artist, so I love to draw.  I generally stick to digital art mediums, using programs such as Photoshop and Paint Tool SAI.  I like realism, semi-realism, cartoon styles, and various digital painting styles as well.  In addition to drawing, I also love to write, and have been working to develop a rich fantasy world to populate with characters and all sorts of detail and interesting things.  I am collecting concepts, characters, and other ideas that will bring the world to life.  I have had a lot of different concepts I want to incorporate, and they evolve a lot as I come up with more things to add.  I have a passion for writing and drawing, and that is why I decided to start this project in the first place.  I plan on making a written version, and a comic version.  I also would like to learn how to animate, and when I am confident with my skills I think it would be great to also produce an animated version of my novel, once it is brought to completion.

When I am looking for inspiration, I look to literature, movies, music, and nature itself.  I love to read, especially fantasy novels like Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, The Golden Compass, Eragon, and many, many more.  I also find great inspiration just from going outside and enjoying nature, I love to hike with my dogs, and just sit outside watching the world around me.
I am also an equestrian, and love to ride horses whenever I get the chance!  Horses have been a big passion of mine, and one day I will live on a ranch and have horses of my own!  I have been riding since I was about 16 years old, and have worked around them quite a lot just on my own, but also I have worked with a children’s horse program to teach them all about being an equestrian!  On my own, I have taken many lessons and gone on plenty of trail rides with friends and family.  I love riding up hills and other obstacles, jumping, trail riding, racing my friends, and exploring on horseback.  I also draw artistic inspiration from my horses and my relationships with them.

My goal in life, I guess you could say, is to work around horses all the time, and to become a well known artist and writer on the side!  I will achieve my goals, one way or another!